Mathematics in Teams

Winners Mathematics A-lympiad 2019-2020

Monday, 4 May, the online award ceremony of the 31st international final of the Mathematics A-lympiad took place. This final was held on the 13th and 14th of March (right before the lockdowns) in Garderen. The seven teams present (from the Netherlands and Germany) enthousiastically examined dice games and even designed – and played – their own game for the final assignment. In the end, two teams (one from each country) emerged victorious. During the ceremony, the winning Dutch team received the medals and cup online (yes, this turned out to be possible through a beautiful collaboration between the committee and the teacher!). The German team was awarded in a fitting manner a few days later.


The results:

1st: Städliches Gymnasium Herten and Montaigne Lyceum Den Haag

3rd: Städliches Gymnasium Bad Laasphe

4th: Dockinga College Dokkum

5th: Elzendaal College Boxmeer

6th: CSG Dingstede Meppel and Gymnasium Celeanum Zwolle


The primaries of the next A-lympiad will be held on Friday, 13 November 2020.

For more information: visit